Assurance framework

​​NHS England has introduced a new CCG Improvement and Assessment Framework for 2016/17 (IAF). This is intended to replace both the existing CCG assurance framework and the CCG performance dashboard. It draws together the NHS Constitution, performance and finance metrics and transformational challenges, and it is intended that this will play an important part in the delivery of the Five Year Forward View

The performance of Clinical Commissioning Groups, including Merton, is monitored by NHS England, using an 'assurance framework'. This aims to provide confidence to internal and external stakeholders and the wider public that CCGs are operating effectivel​​​​y to:

  • commission safe, high-quality and sustainable services within our resources

  • deliver on our statutory duties; and

  • drive continuous improvement in the quality of services and outcomes achieved for patients.​

This past year, a new improvement and assessment framework​ was introduced.  To find out more about the 2016/2017 assurance framework for CCGs, please click here​

Merton CCG has updated its performance reporting for 2016/17 to reflect this new Assessment Framework. Each month, Merton CCG’s Clinical Quality Committee reviews the latest position in terms of performance against targets and standards.

Key issues from these performance reports are then distilled to provide a report for the Governing Body of the CCG. This is intended to assure the Board and Members that issues are being scrutinised and – where required – appropriate action is being taken to address poor performance against targets or in the quality of services provided to the local population. This Governing Body paper also includes the CCG’s latest financial position.​

​​To read the most recent assurance report for Merton CCG, please click here

NHS Five Year Forward View​

The NHS Five Year Forward View sets out a strategic vision for the future of the NHS. It was developed by the partner organisations that deliver and oversee health and care services including:
  • NHS England
  • NHS Improvement (Monitor and the NHS Trust Development Authority)
  • Health Education England (HEE)
  • The National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)
  • Public Health England (PHE)
  • Care Quality Commission (CQC)

The document sets out a list of national priorities for 2016/17 and longer-term challenges for local systems, together with financial assumptions and business rules.​

Click here to find out more about the Five Year Forward View 

Updated ​July 2016

 Further information

To find out more and get advice please contact us on 020 8812 7600.