​​About NHS Merton CCG 

What is a Clinical Commissioning Group? 


Clinical Commissioning Groups, or CCGs, are local NHS organisations that were established under the Health and Social Care Act 2012.

As of 1 April 2013, CCGs are independent statutory bodies that are governed by members of local GP practices. This means that GPs and healthcare professionals are at the heart of designing local health services in England.

CCGs are responsible for the local health care budget and they buy (commission) local healthcare services on behalf of the local population. These services include:

  • Planned care and hospital care
  • Urgent and emergency care
  • Rehabilitation care
  • Community health services
  • Mental health and learning disability services

CCGs work with patients and health and social care partners (e.g. local hospitals, local authorities, local community groups) to ensure services meet  the needs of the local population. ​


 Further information

For further information about Clinical Commissioning Groups, please visit the NHS England website.

NHS Merton Clinical Commissioning Group are based at:

5th Floor
120 Broadway
SW19 1RH

Telephone: 020 3668 1221